Monday, October 18, 2021

    2 APC candidates win Assembly seats in Kwara

    Must read

    Babatunde Akinsola
    Babatunde Akinsola is aNaija247news' Southwest editor. He's based in Lagos and writes on the Yoruba Nation political issues, news and investigative reports

    election+northTwo  candidates of the All Progressives  Congress (APC) have won  seats in the Kwara House of Assembly.

    The Returning Officer for  Okuta/Yashikira State Constituency, Dr Samuel Kolawole of the University of Ilorin, declared  the result for the constituency on  Sunday in Kosubosu, headquarters of Baruten Local Government Area of the state.

    He   said  Mallam Usman Adamu of the APC polled 10, 900 votes to defeat Alhaji Usman Abdullahi of the PDP who scored 5, 986 votes.

    Also announcing  the results for Ilesha-Baruba/Gwanara State Constituency on Sunday, the Returning Officer, Dr Ridwan Yusuf of the  University of Ilorin,  declared Alhaji Umar Gunu of the APC winner.

    Gunu  scored 7,668  votes to beat Mallam Alhassan Sianu of the PDP who had 3,285 votes

    Meanwhile, a community leader  in the area, Prof.  Halidu Abubakar, has  applauded the peaceful conduct of the electorate in the area through out the electoral process

    Abubakar commended  the electoral body for the introduction of  Smart Card Readers  in the 2015 elections.

    He, however, urged INEC to tackle  the challenges  experienced in the handling of  the card readers ahead of the next elections.

    Abubakar also urged INEC  to consolidate on its  achievements  in terms  of   distribution of  electoral materials as well as distribution of the Permanent Voters  Cards.(NAN)

    - Advertisement -spot_img

    More articles

    - Advertisement -spot_img

    Latest article

    WP to LinkedIn Auto Publish Powered By :