Monday, October 18, 2021

    INEC withholds results of 4 constituencies in Anambra, fixes re-run for April 18

    Must read

    Babatunde Akinsola
    Babatunde Akinsola is aNaija247news' Southwest editor. He's based in Lagos and writes on the Yoruba Nation political issues, news and investigative reports

    The INEC in Anambra on Sunday withheld the results of elections into four constituencies in the state and fixed April 18 for the re-run.

    The Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Mr Edwin Nwatarali, announced the development in Awka when he briefed newsmen on the outcome of the April 11 state assembly elections in the state.

    Nwatarali also announced the results of 25 constituencies while one constituency, Anambra West, was still being collated.

    He said that the four outstanding constituencies would have rescheduled elections due to electoral malpractice in the area during the Saturday polls.

    Nwatarali said that of the 30 available seats, the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) had won in the 25 constituencies so far concluded.

    The commissioner listed the areas where elections were rescheduled as Ekwusigo, where violence erupted during the poll, Aguata 1, Uga ward, Anaocha 1and Anaocha 2 where manual accreditation was used without justification.

    The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the 25 constituencies so far declared were mostly won by incumbent lawmakers.

    Anambra is one of the states where governorship election was not conducted. (NAN)

    - Advertisement -spot_img

    More articles

    - Advertisement -spot_img

    Latest article

    WP to LinkedIn Auto Publish Powered By :