Saturday, October 23, 2021

    Ajayi emerges new Akarigbo of Remo

    Must read

    Amid anxiety among indigenes and friends of Sagamu, a bustling commercial and industrial hub, in Ogun State, Prince Babatunde Ajayi, a Chartered Accountant and Legal Practitioner has emerged the elected new Akarigbo of Remoland through an open ballot election conducted among the town’s kingmakers.
    Ajayi, a Fellow if the Institute of Chartered accountants of Nigeria ( ICAN), polled five votes to emerge the new Akarigbo of Remoland while the runner up, Prof. Babatunde Ogunmola, scored two votes. The 17 other candidates polled zero each.
    The stool became vacant when the last Akarigbo, Oba Michael Adeniyi Sonariwo, a chartered accountant, joined his ancestors a year ago.

    The election which took place at the Akarigbo’s Palace, Sagamu, was supervised by the Secretary to the Local Government, Otunba Adewale Fakoya who read out names of the 19 candidates to the kingmakers amid tight security within and outside the venue.

    The Kingmakers included Chief Rasak Akinyemi Salami (Lisa), Chief Abdul Wasiu Awofala (Losi), Chief Taiwo Sule ( Oluwo Odofin), Chief Lamidi Olaitan Adesanya (Apena), Chief Ogunyemi Tijani Adesina (Ogbeni odi), Chief Kolawole Odumuyiwa ((Balogun) and Olotu Omoba JAS Adekunle (Olotu Omoba Akarigbo).

    The motion to forward the name Babatunde Ajayi as Akarigbo – elect to the state government was moved by Chief Abdul Awofala(the Losi ) and seconded by Balogun Chief Kolawole.

    Hundreds of armed Policemen, the Police Ordinance unit, Operatives of the Vigilante Service of Ogun State, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps(NSCDC) and other security agencies – brought by over a dozen Hilux Pick Up patrol van, kept vigil to ward off would be trouble makers.

    The 19 candidates that vied for the stool are Prof. Gabriel Ogunmola (Head of Torungbuwa family), Prof. Adewale Solarin, the President of African Mathematical Union and the immediate past Director-General of National Mathematics Centre (NMC), Abuja and Prof Tunde Ogunsanwo, lecturer at the Ogun State – owned Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago – Iwoye.

    Others are Princes Babatunde Ajayi, Adeyinka Adeniyi, Akibu Kazeem, Adedapo Opeaye, Ibukun Alayo, Adebayo Mutiu Bolajoko, Abiodun Ogunbiyi, Nuru Oyekan Tajudeen Saka Princes Ayoola Adetinoye, Adeuja Ashimolowo, Saula Adenowo, Folarin Solarin, Seyi Sotubo, Bolaji Osiderumu and Adeniyi Adesanya.

    Meanwhile, the Commissioner for Local and Chieftaincy Affairs, Chief Jide Ojuko, has confirmed to reporters in Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital, that Babatunde Adewale Ajayi had emerged as the the newly elected Akarigbo of Remoland.

    Ojuko said Ajayi polled five votes as against two votes by the runner up, Prof. Babatunde Ogunmola in an election conducted by the seven-man King makers.

    “It is true that a candidate has been elected as the Akarigbo of Remoland. He is Prince Tunde Ajayi. I am happy the processes have been peaceful, I mean both the nomination and selection and very soon, the installation date will be announced,” Ojuko said.TheNation

    - Advertisement -spot_img

    More articles

    - Advertisement -spot_img

    Latest article

    WP to LinkedIn Auto Publish Powered By :