Police commission promotes Magu, 17 others


The Police Service Commission has approved the promotion of the Ag. Chairman of Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Ibrahim Mustapha Magu to the rank of Commissioner of Police.

The Commission also approved the promotion of AIG Agbola Oshodi-Glover in charge of Zone 11, Osogbo, to the next rank of a Deputy Inspector General of Police.

The Commission also approved the promotion of 16 other senior Police Officers to their next ranks.

A statement in Abuja on Friday by the Commission’s Spokesman, Ikechukwu Ani stated that the promotion was one of the high points of the Commission’s 27th Plenary Meeting presided over by the Commission’s Chairman, Mike Okiro.

Other details of the promotion reads: “CP Ghazzali Mohammed, Commissioner of Police, Administration, DLS, Force Headquarters and CP Peace Ibekwe Abdallah, former Commissioner of Police, Ebonyi State Command and currently, CP, Force Intelligence Bureau, Force Headquarters were promoted to Assistant Inspector General of Police.

“The acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, DCP Ibrahim Mustapha Magu, DCP Ebere C. Onyeagoro, DCP Administration, Kaduna State Command and DCP Moshood O. Gbolarumi, DCP Maritime, Lagos, were promoted to the next rank of Commissioner of Police.”

Other promotions approved by the Commission include; one Assistant Commissioner of Police to Deputy Commissioner of Police, nine Chief Superintendents of Police to assistant Commissioners of Police, one Deputy Superintendent of Police to Superintendent of Police, one assistant Superintendent of Police to Deputy Superintendent of Police and one Inspector to assistant Superintendent of Police.

Chairman of the Commission, Okiro while congratulating the newly promoted officers, urged them to rededicate themselves to the service of their fatherland.

Okiro assured them that the Commission will continue to pay attention to their basic entitlements which include regular promotions.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.