Ogun Assembly confirms transition committees for 19 councils


Ogun House of Assembly on Thursday confirmed the appointment of transition committee members for 19 local government areas of the state.

Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff (APC-Ado Odo Ota 1), read the report of the committee of the whole House during plenary on the screening of the transition committee members.

Sheriff explained that during the two-day screening of the nominees, members examined the curriculum vitae, credentials and found them to be eligible and suitable to assume the exalted office.

News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that screening of the nominees for chairman and members of Ipokia Local Government Transition Committee, which is the 20th local government was suspended in honour of late chairman nominee, Shuaib Adeosun.

The majority leader, thereafter, moved the motion for the adoption of the report of the committee, which was seconded by Chairman, House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Akeem Balogun (APC-Ogun Waterside).

Sheriff also moved the motion for confirmation of the transition committee members for 19 local governments, seconded by Balogun.

In his response, Speaker Olakunle Oluomo (APC-Ifo 1), noted that with the confirmation, the nominees were now eligible to be sworn in by Governor Dapo Abiodun.

NAN reports that the governor had over the weekend forwarded the names of transition committee members for 20 local governments to the House for confirmation.

Meanwhile, Governor Dapo Abiodun on Thursday said the 19 commissioners recently screened and approved by the state House of Assembly will be sworn-in today.

The commissioner-nominees would also be given their respective portfolios, according to the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Kunle Somorin.

The commissioner-nominees include a former Commissioner for Sports in the state, Mr Afolabi Afuape, and another former commissioner for Agriculture, Mr Tunji Akinosi.

The others include the pioneer vice chancellor of Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti, Prof. Sidi Osho and a former rector of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta, Dr. Adeola Odedina as well as Mr Olaolu Olabimtan and Mr. Gbolahan Adeniran.

The rest are: Dr Tomi Coker, Mr. Femi Ogunbanwo, Mr. Tunji Odunlami, Hon. Abudu Balogun, Mrs Kikelomo Longe, Mr Dapo Okubadejo, Oludotun Taiwo, Mr Ganiyu Hamzat, Mrs Funmi Efuwape, Mr Kehinde Oluwadare, Mr Jamiu Omoniyi, Mr Toyin Taiwo and Mr Ade Akinsanya.

Previous articleREVEALED: How Delta PDP ward chairman was assasnated
Next articleLagos begins hajj medical screening
Obodo Ejiroghene Lucky [Chief Economist] Mr. Ejiroghene Obodo is an economist with over 15 years in Journalism, which cuts across Research and Data analysis. Mr Obodo, a graduate of Columbia University, New York City, with a Degree Journalism Graduate School Field Of Study Citi Journalism Seminar Ejiro was the Online Editor at BusinessDay Media, where he oversees the online editorial department. Proir to this Mr. Ejiroghene Obodo, also known as Lucky, served as a Senior Research Analyst at BusinessDay Research and Intelligence Unit. Prior to this, he was an Analyst at the firm. Ejiro has won series of International awards which includes the most coveted awards Citi Journalistic Award for 2013 See his professional profile listed on Bloomberg

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.